The Town of Clayton is a "911" emergency community. For ANY police response — DIAL 911.

Clayton Law Enforcement offers many levels of service. The Clayton Police Department has 57 full-time sworn police officers managed by the Chief and a Major and three Captains who report directly to the Chief. The department comprises several divisions that work together to provide a safe community for the citizens and visitors in Clayton.

The Clayton Police Department also works closely with local law enforcement from the Johnston County Sheriff’s Department and numerous municipal agencies that serve throughout the county.

Police protection is provided 24 hours a day / 365 days a year and is facilitated with the assistance of the Johnston County 911 Communications Center.

Clayton Law Enforcement Divisions